

January 2024

Call for the Nomination of IASCL Members for the IASCL Executive Committee (2024-2030)

The Nominating and Appointing Committee (NAC) of the IASCL seeks nominations for nine elected positions as committee members on the Executive Committee of the IASCL, to replace the following outgoing members:

Outgoing as of the Prague Business Meeting, July 2024:
Reili Argus, Estonia
Sharon Armon-Lotem, Israel
Laura Bosch, Spain
Patricia Brooks, USA
Lourdes de Léon, Mexico
Yuki Hirose, Japan
Aliyah Morgenstern, France
Ciara O'Toole, Ireland
Filip Smolik, Czech Republic.

Six other elected members have positions that will continue until 2027. They are:

Daniela Gatt, Malta
Celia Rosemberg, Argentina
Meredith Rowe, United States
Sabine Stoll, Switzerland
Mele Taumoepeau, New Zealand
Gillian Wigglesworth, Australia.

The positions to be filled are tenable for six years (2024-2030). Current members of the Executive Committee cannot be re-nominated for a second term (statutes concerning the election procedures are copied below). The IASCL has a policy of seeking geographical balance in representation from members (with no more than 3 members from the same country).

Nominations should reach the NAC Chair, Gillian (Jill) Wigglesworth, at g.wigglesworth@unimelb.edu.au by February 29, 2024.

Nominations should be put forward in writing (or electronic equivalent). *Nomination details should include the following:*

- mailing/emailing address of the nominee
- a brief statement of her/his qualifications for membership on the Executive Committee
- his/her signature/evidence of agreement,
- and the signature/details of the nominator, who must be a current member of the Association.

Note that nominees need not be current IASCL members, but nominators must be (this implies that nominators attended the July 2021 online Congress or paid membership dues afterwards).

The Nominating and Appointing Committee will finalize the list of nominees in April 2024, and members will then be invited to vote on-line for their chosen candidates (no later than May 15, 2024). The new appointments to the Executive Committee will be ratified at the IASCL Business Meeting in Prague.

We look forward to hearing from you!

The IASCL Nominating and Appointing Committee, 2022-2024,

Lourdes de Léon (Mexico) Sabine Stoll (Switzerland) Gillian (Jill) Wigglesworth (Australia), Chair

Relevant details of the IASCL Statutes

(extracted from https://www.childlanguage.org/governing-statute):

The Nominating and Appointing Committee shall [..] submit a slate of nominees for the open positions on the Executive Committee. The slate will be based on suggested nominations from the membership, together with additional nominations from the Committee. The slate will preferably include twice as many nominees as there are open positions. Members shall cast as many votes as there are open positions on the Executive Committee.

Nominees receiving the highest votes will be elected, subject to the requirement that no more than 3 members of the Executive Committee shall be from the same country. Balloting will take place no later than two months before the next congress when all appointments and elected member positions will be ratified at the Business Meeting. The President may upon consultation with members of the Executive Committee fill vacancies on committees. Such appointments shall stand until the next congress.